Teaching in Nature


Scottish Natural Heritage

Brian Spoor, SNH Communications Officer

SNH site managers: Martin Twiss (Cleghorn Glen and Falls of Clyde), Catriona Reid (Muir of Dinnet, Burn o'Vat), Neil Mitchell (Loch Leven), and Tom Cunningham (Tentsmuir)

Research Team, School of Education, University of Stirling

Dr Greg Mannion
Ashley Fenwick
Clare Nugent
Dr John I'Anson

supported by Dr Eric Easton, Ms Claire Whewell, and Mr Jonathan Lynch.


Professor Pete Higgins, University of Edinburgh
Dr Ian Matheson, General Teaching Council of Scotland
Ms Alison Motion, Royal Highland Education Trust
Ms Juliet Robertson, Creative Star Company

Participating Teacher-researchers and Schools

Dundee & Fife Group

Mr Gerry Dillon, Dundee High School
Ms Jill Darroch, Auchmuty High School
Ms Linsey Rose, Balwearie High School
Ms Joan Brown, Auchmuty High School
Mr Calum McLeod, Balwearie High School

South Lanarkshire Group

Ms Anthea Cameron, Stonelaw Learning Community
Ms Joyce Wood, Crawford Primary School
Ms Debbie Hughes, Biggar Learning Community
Ms Anne Smart, Carnwath Primary School
Ms Eleanor Taylor, New Lanark Primary School
Ms Julie Wilson, Going for Growth Project Leader, South Lanarkshire Council

Aberdeenshire Group

Mr Graham Scott, Alford Academy
Mr Liam Moffat, Alford Academy
Ms Sharon Douglas, Alford Primary School
Ms Claire Gillespie, Banchory Academy
Ms Andrea Drummond, Craigievar Primary School

Argyll and Bute (Isle of Mull) Group

Ms Catriona MacPhail, Salen Primary School
Ms Heather Waller, Ulva Ferry Primary School
Ms Liz Kennedy, Iona Primary School